Understanding Your Chakras: The 3 Biggest Misconceptions

June 28th, 2021

Chakras are energy centres within the human body. They help to regulate all its processes, from organ function to the immune system and emotions. Therefore, each chakra has its own vibrational frequency, colour, and governs specific functions that help make you human. But there are common misconceptions about chakras. So, read on to start understanding your chakras and the 3 biggest misconceptions about them.

the chakra energy points

What are chakras?

The term chakra is Sanskrit for “wheel.” Therefore, chakras are regularly depicted as spinning, coloured wheels of energy. So, each individual has a set of Chakras that are positioned down the centre of the body. They are:

  • Root (1st) — Base of the spine; governs survival instincts, grounding.

  • Sacral (2nd) — Lower abdomen; governs sexuality, intuition, self-worth/-esteem.

  • Solar Plexus (3rd) — Upper abdomen; governs impulse control, ego.

  • Heart (4th) — Center of the chest; governs compassion, spirituality.

  • Throat (5th) — Throat; governs communication, emotion.

  • Third Eye (6th) — Between the eyes; governs rationality, wisdom, imagination.

  • Crown (7th) — Top of the head; governs connection with the Divine.

Any time a chakra becomes blocked, underactive or overactive, it can throw you off balance. Either physically, emotionally, mentally, and/or spiritually. So in order to restore a positive balance, the entire blockage and/or negativity must be removed. Therefore, the most common method to balance chakras is energy healing, which can include:

  • Reiki

  • Conscious breathing

  • Tai Chi

  • Chakra meditation

  • Acupressure and acupuncture

  • Yoga

  • Aromatherapy

What are the 3 biggest misconceptions about chakras?

the chakras

1: We have only 7 chakras

There are, in fact, more than 7 chakras, but 7 is the general number that is associated with the seven planetary energies in human form. Actually, the body has endless energy centres around it. So, different Tantra's describe different areas where chakras can be found. Some claim there are 3, others saying 7 or 9 and some saying there are 12 or more.

2: The chakras are the colour of the rainbow.

Well, not really. Again, depending on which ancient tradition you are calling upon, you will see different variations in colour. Therefore, some describe the colours as 'the colour of lightning' or 'the colour of a rain cloud'- very conceptual! While others see the chakras as deities sitting upon lotus flowers. Each petal a different shade. However, the colours we see today are just a variation and can be helpful in visualisation meditations.

3: You're probably pronouncing 'chakra' wrong.

In the official translation for Sanskrit, “c” is pronounced “ch” as in “church,” depicting the word as “cakra” or “chakra.” But regardless of the spelling, it is not pronounced 'shack-ra' but rather 'chuck-ra'. Better tell your friends!

chakra stones

Conclusion about the chakras and the 3 biggest misconceptions

SO, hopefully, you have started understanding your chakras and the 3 biggest misconceptions about them. We have been oversimplifying the chakras for many years. The concept is actually a lot more broad and complicated than you might think. It is important that we continue to learn and grow into ourselves as individuals and practices such as the chakras are a great way to do this. So, stay open, stay curious and stay grounded.